#INTLYALITMONTH: The League of Super Feminists by Mirion Malle

Review by Paige Spilles The League of Super Feminists by Mirion Malle Explaining complex ideologies to our younger readers can be a struggle! In her book, The League of Super Feminists, French cartoonist and author Mirion Malle offers a useful, illustrated primer to all things related to feminism. Malle uses lively, conversational language and colorful … Continue reading #INTLYALITMONTH: The League of Super Feminists by Mirion Malle

#INTLYALITMONTH: Oksi by Mari Ahokoivu, translated by Silja-Maaria Aronpuro

Review by: Jennifer Baltes Oksi by Mari Ahokoivu Poorling doesn’t fit in. She’s not a bear cub, like her brothers, and with her tiny, upright body and flame-shaped head, she doesn’t look like anything in the forest. She desperately wants to be a bear: fierce, strong, and loved by her bear mother, Umi. As Poorling’s … Continue reading #INTLYALITMONTH: Oksi by Mari Ahokoivu, translated by Silja-Maaria Aronpuro

#INTLYALITMONTH: The End of Eddy by Edouard Louis

Review by Jack Gantos The End of Eddy by Edouard Louis The End of Eddy is the semi-autobiographical story of a young gay man’s life in an impoverished and dysfunctional rural French family.  Both the family and his social environment - in school and in the town - do not attempt to understand him, and … Continue reading #INTLYALITMONTH: The End of Eddy by Edouard Louis

#WorldKidLit Wednesday: In the Meadow of Fantasies

What beauty awaits when the imagination takes flight! In the Meadow of Fantasies opens with a young girl of around 6 years of age. She is wearing a white nightdress, lying in bed. As she gazes up at a mobile of seven white galloping ponies, she murmurs “There was one, one horse. There were two, … Continue reading #WorldKidLit Wednesday: In the Meadow of Fantasies

#WorldKidLit Wednesday: Fighting the Good Fight: Social Justice in Children’s (Translated) Books and Graphic Novels

Books for young readers help shape children’s minds, attitudes, and viewpoints. Hence it’s crucial for young readers to have the opportunity to hear diverse voices from around the world. Today’s impressionable, thoughtful young minds need to be aware of important issues and acts of historical or social justice. Graphic Novels Maus: A Survivor’s Tale From … Continue reading #WorldKidLit Wednesday: Fighting the Good Fight: Social Justice in Children’s (Translated) Books and Graphic Novels

Poet-diplomat Abhay K. celebrates #MadagascarLitMonth at Global Literature in Libraries Initiative

Global Literature in Libraries Initiative is thrilled to welcome an exciting guest editor for December 2021, Abhay K., who is a poet and diplomat in the tradition of Pablo Neruda and Octavia Paz. With only 12 possible spots available throughout the year, Ambassador Abhay K.’s selection as a guest editor for Global Literature in Libraries … Continue reading Poet-diplomat Abhay K. celebrates #MadagascarLitMonth at Global Literature in Libraries Initiative

#DutchKidLit – Historical Fiction and the 2014, 2015 Batchelder Awards

"The Batchelder Award is awarded to a United States publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originating in a country other than the United States and in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States during the preceding year."-- Association … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Historical Fiction and the 2014, 2015 Batchelder Awards

#DutchKidLit – The Cat who Came in off the Roof by Annie M.G. Schmidt

Last night I provided shelter to a purring lady who entered my apartment through the attic window and, on being asked, informed me that she had once been a cat...- The Cat Who Came in Off the Roof No list of #DutchKidLit would be complete without Minoes or The Cat Who Came in Off the … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – The Cat who Came in off the Roof by Annie M.G. Schmidt

#DutchKidLit – Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw

Shortlisted for the 2020 Global Literature in Libraries Initiative Translated YA Book Prize “Don’t be fooled, Michiel, by the romance of war, heroism, sacrifice, excitement, adventure. War means injuries, grief, torture, imprisonment, hunger, hardship, injustice. There’s nothing romantic about it.”- Winter in Wartime This award-winning Dutch children’s classic is a gripping World War II adventure … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw

#DutchKidLit – Tortot, the Cold Fish who Lost His World and Found His Heart by Benny Lindelauf

Shortlisted for the 2020 Global Literature in Libraries Initiative Translated YA Book Prize This charming, bittersweet fable about the madness of war won its author the Gouden Lijst Prize for Children’s Literature in his native Netherlands, and comes lavished with gloriously intricate pen-and-ink illustrations by Ludwig Volbeda.- Financial Times A quick look at the illustrations … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Tortot, the Cold Fish who Lost His World and Found His Heart by Benny Lindelauf