#WorldKidLit Wednesday: Fighting the Good Fight: Social Justice in Children’s (Translated) Books and Graphic Novels

Books for young readers help shape children’s minds, attitudes, and viewpoints. Hence it’s crucial for young readers to have the opportunity to hear diverse voices from around the world. Today’s impressionable, thoughtful young minds need to be aware of important issues and acts of historical or social justice. Graphic Novels Maus: A Survivor’s Tale From … Continue reading #WorldKidLit Wednesday: Fighting the Good Fight: Social Justice in Children’s (Translated) Books and Graphic Novels

Poet-diplomat Abhay K. celebrates #MadagascarLitMonth at Global Literature in Libraries Initiative

Global Literature in Libraries Initiative is thrilled to welcome an exciting guest editor for December 2021, Abhay K., who is a poet and diplomat in the tradition of Pablo Neruda and Octavia Paz. With only 12 possible spots available throughout the year, Ambassador Abhay K.’s selection as a guest editor for Global Literature in Libraries … Continue reading Poet-diplomat Abhay K. celebrates #MadagascarLitMonth at Global Literature in Libraries Initiative

#DutchKidLit – Historical Fiction and the 2014, 2015 Batchelder Awards

"The Batchelder Award is awarded to a United States publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originating in a country other than the United States and in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States during the preceding year."-- Association … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Historical Fiction and the 2014, 2015 Batchelder Awards

#DutchKidLit – The Cat who Came in off the Roof by Annie M.G. Schmidt

Last night I provided shelter to a purring lady who entered my apartment through the attic window and, on being asked, informed me that she had once been a cat...- The Cat Who Came in Off the Roof No list of #DutchKidLit would be complete without Minoes or The Cat Who Came in Off the … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – The Cat who Came in off the Roof by Annie M.G. Schmidt

#DutchKidLit – Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw

Shortlisted for the 2020 Global Literature in Libraries Initiative Translated YA Book Prize “Don’t be fooled, Michiel, by the romance of war, heroism, sacrifice, excitement, adventure. War means injuries, grief, torture, imprisonment, hunger, hardship, injustice. There’s nothing romantic about it.”- Winter in Wartime This award-winning Dutch children’s classic is a gripping World War II adventure … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw

#DutchKidLit – Tortot, the Cold Fish who Lost His World and Found His Heart by Benny Lindelauf

Shortlisted for the 2020 Global Literature in Libraries Initiative Translated YA Book Prize This charming, bittersweet fable about the madness of war won its author the Gouden Lijst Prize for Children’s Literature in his native Netherlands, and comes lavished with gloriously intricate pen-and-ink illustrations by Ludwig Volbeda.- Financial Times A quick look at the illustrations … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – Tortot, the Cold Fish who Lost His World and Found His Heart by Benny Lindelauf

#DutchKidLit – A Pond Full of Ink: Annie M.G. Schmidt’s most beautiful children’s poems by Annie M.G. Schmidt

In the creative cosmos of beloved Dutch poet Annie M.G. Schmidt, anything is possible — and the more whimsical, the better. Her rollicking poems transform ordinary events and places into extraordinary adventures full of imagination.- Eerdlings: the official blog of Eerdman's Books for Young Readers The Man Who Writes Fairy Tales has run out of ink. Luckily for … Continue reading #DutchKidLit – A Pond Full of Ink: Annie M.G. Schmidt’s most beautiful children’s poems by Annie M.G. Schmidt

#DutchKidLit and The Canon of the Netherlands, Part 2 – The Subversive Wit of Annie M.G. Schmidt

"Never do what your mother tells you to do, then everything will be all right,” to quote Annie M.G. Schmidt. Just saying what you want to say, not making a fuss, breaking any rules that don’t make sense, and recalcitrant humour; these are the secrets of her pen [sic]."1911-1995 Annie M.G. Schmidt: Going against the … Continue reading #DutchKidLit and The Canon of the Netherlands, Part 2 – The Subversive Wit of Annie M.G. Schmidt

Day 23: 🇲🇺 Silence of the Chagos

In a Nutshell: What a gem of a book this is. It tells the story of Charlesia and Désiré, both from the island of Diego García. It is also about the plight of the Chagossian people, expelled from their archipelago to enable the United States to build one of their main military bases. The book … Continue reading Day 23: 🇲🇺 Silence of the Chagos

Day 11: 🇵🇪 Nine Moons

In a Nutshell: Published by Restless Books, a US indie publisher and written in 2009, Nueve Lunas in Spanish, this wonderful essay collection was translated into English in 2019 by Jessica Powell. Each chapter is a month of Wiener’s pregnancy, she is from Lima, at athe time of writing the book, she was living in … Continue reading Day 11: 🇵🇪 Nine Moons